SSC Napoli (Home 2014/15)

Well, I can take the suspense already away and tell you that the next few posts will all be from Serie A before I head over to a few other leagues and cover teams that made a splash this season either in their leagues or with their shirts. And of course, there are a few giant teams that did not play that well this season, but who are kind of mainstays. Well, Napoli is a mainstay on my blog since I started. In addition, they made a run all the way to the semis of the Europa League where they somehow got eliminated by FC Dnipro. A true upset – nothing less. Well, I know I am out on a limb here, but I blame their garish European jerseys that I covered previously. Now, to the more “classic” looking jerseys. Let’s start with the home jersey:

napoli-2014-home

Macron has been on the scene for a few seasons now (at least since I started this blog) and they have more or less gone an opposite route to warrior by rarely messing with classic home shirt designs and only occasionally making a splash (see Napoli away 2013/14). And this year’s home shirt is just a classic looking beauty: All light blue with a very nice shirt collar. White is just used as an accent on the sleeve trims and the collar opening. Of course all Macron logos are also held in white, namely on the chest and the sleeves. Other than that, very plain. That is, if you ignore the two sponsors on the front. Maybe the shield for winning the Coppa Italia makes thiings look busy on the right side, but there is hardly a better option except for getting rid of one of the sponsrs which also could use a better color scheme.

napoli-2014-home-mertens

Below the collar there is also a simple white SSC Napoli wordmark and names and numbers are applied in white with a grey shade. If you look closely, the tai portion of the jersey is also white.

Truly a great Napoli jersey! Only the sponsors ruin the front quite a bit. I understand financial constraints, but an adaptation in size and color would have made a vast difference. Still, I like it enough to not be too harsh:

My rating: 9/10 stars.

How do you rate this shirt?

One comment on “SSC Napoli (Home 2014/15)

  1. Pingback: SSC Napoli (Third 2014/15) | My Soccer Universe

What do you think?