Italy (Home 1986-91)

This is my 60th post. 59 posts without a perfect score. That has to be changed! So let’s have a look at the first soccer shirt I ever owned – to this day probably my favorite. You already know that I like Holland, but I do like Italy equally well (if not more – they are at least winning trophies). Contradiction? Maybe. Have in mind, I fell for soccer in 1990 and at that time AC Milan was the most talked about team. And their stars were all from Holland (Gullit – Rijkaard – van Basten) with a strong Italian backing (Baresi – Donadoni – Maldini). So that’s where it all started. This Italy shirt is remarkable (by today’s standards) in the sense that it was used in three major tournaments. Unfortunately, it was not meant to be for Italy in all of these tournaments, but at least they looked extremely stylish.

italy-1986-home
italy-1988-home
italy-1990-home

This was a time when the Italian team was supplied by an Italian company: Diadora. The shirt is rather simple: it is plain azure blue with a shirt collar. What I really like are the Italian flag trims. It is subtle but you still incorporate the national colors. The crest of the FIGC looks light years better than the current abomination or any other. Although – and this is the only minor, minor criticism – I prefer the Italian shield. Still the crest is so close, that I don’t hold it against the shirt.

Italy-90-Home-USE-Dia_12_3_3_2_1_3

The back is also plain blue and only featured the number in white and that oh-so-classic 3D font. Simply superb.

italy-1990-home-schillaci

What can I say more? I love this shirt! The colors are amazing, it is a classic design and it manages to incorporate the national colors in a great and subtle way. Add to it that it was worn with white shorts and blue socks (something that does not happen that often these days of uni-colored uniforms) and it is the best. It was also the first one I owned. 🙂

My rating: 10/10 stars.

How do you rate this shirt?

One comment on “Italy (Home 1986-91)

What do you think?