England (Home 2014-15)

It is a new era for the English team: for the first time since 1982, the team will not play with Umbro jerseys at a big international tournament. Sporting giants Nike secured another scalp and with England they probably have the most iconic jersey after Brazil. Although I have not covered it yet, the first jersey was actually a beauty – very much in the style of the great USA Centennial jersey. And while man would have liked England to play exactly in these, only the foolish did not expect a new jersey for the World Cup. Here it is:

england-2014-home-10

Without doubt this is the simplest World Cup shirt if not England shirt. A white shirt with a broad V-neck. Swoosh and centered front number are in blue with the Three-Lions crest placed nicely on the left side. No other accents, or so it seems. At closer inspection there are many light silver pinstripes on the front of the jersey. While pinstripes placed in appropriate width can give a jersey a great look, they actually give the jersey a pajama-feeling in this case.

england-2014-home-rooney

Simplicity also reigns on the back. Only the new Bauhaus-style font is showing in blue with silver outlines. Gone however are the pinstripes from the front.

Likelihood of being featured: 100%
vs. Italy: 99% (Should be 100%, but I leave 1% just to allow for some error)
vs. Uruguay: 99% (Same as above)
vs. Costa Rica: 99% (Same as above)

In principle I like simplicity. But here not so much. Probably one of the most disappointing England jerseys I can remember. What bothers me is the blue that is too light as well as the dull style of the jersey. I think undershirt or pajama shirt is an appropriate description. All could have been saved if the collar and the sleeves would feature some sort of Navy accents, but this one does not look like an England shirt to me. I tried hard to like this one, but given what Nike was able to cook up last year, this just does not make the cut.

My rating: 4/10 stars.

How do you rate this shirt?

2 comments on “England (Home 2014-15)

  1. Pingback: Italy (Away 2014-15) | My Soccer Universe

  2. Pingback: England (Away 2014-15) | My Soccer Universe

What do you think?