SL Benfica (Home 2013/14)

With my 300th post, I will end the 2013/14 club season with a classic jersey: the Benfica home jersey. I have covered 29 clubs from all over Europe in 78 posts (including this one). That Benfica is my last post is on one part coincidence, but also a bit planned: With this post I also want to play tribute to one of soccer’s greatest players who played for Benfica.

benfica-2013-home

The Benfica home jersey is red as it should be, but unlike the very classic looking version from last year we have a more informal looking one with black accents. In particular, we have a black round collar and sleeve trims, both accented with thin white stripes. Black may seem an unusual choice, but as the season went on it seemed fitting since two of the club’s legends passed away in a very short amount of time: Mario Coluna and of course the great Eusebio.  White takes over for the shoulder stripes, Adidas logo and sponsor. The highlight of the jersey is surely the eagle’s head shadow pattern on the right side.

benfica-2013-home-eusebiotribute

The back features another sponsor and names and numbers in white with a black outline. The picture above shows how the Benfica players were paying tribute to the great Eusebio in their first match after his death.

While I initially disliked the black accents on the Benfica jersey, it became better over the season. Especially with the background of Eusebio’s passing. In honor of the great legend, I won’t be too harsh here, especially since I actually like the eagle on the front of the jersey.

My rating: 7/10 stars.

How do you rate this shirt?

One comment on “SL Benfica (Home 2013/14)

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on the first three days of the European qualifiers | My Soccer Universe

What do you think?